Howard Thurman

good-dayThis weeks quote comes from Howard Thurman.

Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.

This is the meaning of life (for the most part). It has been said many different ways, the other you may have heard is: “If you do what you love, you will never work a day in your life.” If you like taking pictures do it, where would the world of photography be without an Ansel Adams or Annie Leibowitz? Where would the music world be without Mozart or Elvis? Everyone has a dream or something that they love, go do that. I am not saying to quit your job and chase this dream, but work toward doing your hearts desire. For example I changed careers a few years ago, I was a factory worker who was the typical worker bee. I got up, went to work, put in my eight hours, came home and started the cycle over. In retrospect I wasn’t living life, I was surviving. Then my factory position became obsolete and I had to go find a new job. I took this opportunity to do something different. I always had an aptitude for computers and electronics. I took this as a chance for me to start over.  So when I was offered training I jumped on computer training, so I could get a certificate saying I knew what I was doing. So here I am.

That is my story, what’s yours? I have a motto that I live by: “Life is to short to be miserable.” If you are not happy with your job or your life, change it for the better. What’s your story? Please share it in the comments.

Leave a Reply

