Skate to the puck

WGThis week’s quote comes from Wayne Gretzky.
I skate to where the puck is going to be, not where it has been – Wayne Gretzky.

This is terribly profound and can be applied to everyone. Everyone that is not focused on the present, is concerned with the past. How many times have you heard “That’s not how we have always done it”. If you are complacent in your life, how can you expect to get ahead? This isn’t to be confused with “Don’t dress for the job you have, but the job you want.” That implies that somehow the way you dress will magically make you better at your job. Wearing suits and so forth is a very east coast idea. If I had a company, I would much rather have a genius working for me wearing jeans and a t-shirt instead of a moron in a nice suit. (Sorry, had to get that off my chest, now back to the quote). For you to evolve as a person, this can be thought of as setting goals. For example I set a goal for myself that once a week I would write something for my blog. Goal set (and so far) achieved.

I understand this is a relatively small goal, but a goal just the same. In your professional career, you could decide to further your self in you current speciality and take some courses. (Especially if you employer has a tuition program.) Or take courses in a field you are interested in.

The bottom line is, life is way to short to be miserable. If you find yourself in a rut, that will tend to make you unhappy. Shaking stuff up every now and then makes life exciting.

Leave your thoughts in the comments.

Leave a Reply

