Movies and musings…

movie-clip-art-8A lot has been made of the lack of money that is being generated out of Hollywood. We will start with the theatrical side; think about this, in today’s current economic climate, for a family of four to go to a movie (that isn’t a matinée) is almost $80.00 dollars and that’s just for tickets, add in popcorn and what not, you are easily over $100.00 dollars, for an hour and a half’s worth of “entertainment”. My issue with movies is the lack of imagination. Everything that is coming out is a sequel, super hero or reboot. (And sometimes a combination of all three – See Batman and Spiderman).

Let me give some advice.

1)   Don’t aim for a “Blockbuster”. Blockbusters happen and there is no formula.

2)   Start with a good story. Most movies that have been coming out have no interesting storyline. Get a good story before you start shooting.

3)   Keep costs down. Perception will also kill a movie.

 

Here is an example of that. The Lone Ranger was just released; this movie violates all of my advice. Out of the gate it was a Blockbuster  produced by Jerry Bruckheimer with Armie Hammer and Johnny Depp. With a weak story and a $250 Million dollar budget.  In fact, “I think they were reviewing the budget, not reviewing the movie, ” Bruckheimer told Yahoo U.K.-Ireland. “The audience doesn’t care what the budget is — they pay the same amount if it costs a dollar or 20 million dollars.” That is where you are wrong Jerry. If I hear that a movie was $250 Million dollars I expect to be extremely entertained for my money.  The budget should determine if it is worth my time.  If the reviews come out and a ton of money was spent, but the story is week, I am not going to spend a dime of my money on it. If I was a Johnny Depp fan (which I am not) I might wait until it comes out on DVD or I can stream it from Netflix.

While we are at it, I have the same feeling about television. (you guys aren’t getting off the hook either). Television has become cheap and lazy. Networks don’t pitch shows anymore they pitch concepts and prices.  What I mean by that is the networks will crank up yet another reality show. Survivor created this market and now it’s all over the place. No need to have writers, paid actors and a minimal crew. This is not entertaining. The fact that networks are willing to exploit people for their own gains. (See Honey Boo-Boo) while not truly providing entertainment. The way that it is going, you will be able to bounce your grandkids on your knee and regale them with stories about what television was like when they used actors, and not exploiting something that is tragic (See MTV’s teen mom) They don’t seem to understand that typically life imitates art. While not having the show, may not decrease the number of teenage pregnancies, it might help by not promoting it.

The biggest problem is us, the viewers. We are not demanding that we be entertained, and so we get force fed Honey Boo-Boo, Teen Mom and Amish Mafia.

I’ve said my piece. What do you think? Leave something in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Movies and musings…

  1. I agree with you. I find myself searching for great movies from before I was born or I didn’t know about because there isn’t anything current that I want to see. Thanks to the Internets, it’s helpful to find these kinds of movies, however I miss the days of going to the movies or watching TV and feeling truly entertained or the water cooler talk about some interesting movie or TV show that everyone is watching.

  2. I completely agree! We rarely go to the movies, so when we do we expect a lot. The last time we went was on Mardi Gras day two years ago, we saw Chronicle. What a waste of film! And we ONLY saw that because the other three offerings looked worse. So sickened were we that we havent been back. I spend fifteen buck a month on netflix disks and we’re good. When something worth seeing comes out we’ll go. But so far this year Hollywood hasn’t earned back my trust.

Leave a Reply

